Boundaries of People's Democratic Republic of Yemen

FCO 8/2493 1975 Jan 01 - 1975 Dec 31

This file contains documents and maps provided to the People’s Democratic Republic of Yemen (PDRY or South Yemen) in response to a request for documentation on the PDRY’s borders. It contains:

  • The 1968 Memorandum of Understanding between HMG and South Yemen concerning the new state’s borders
  • The 1965 Memorandum of Understanding between HMG and the Sultan of Muscat and Oman Saeed Bin Taimur, which established an administrative boundary between Dhofar and the Eastern Aden Protectorate; with the Pan American Hadhramaut Oil Company’s map of the Hadhramaut and Mahra displaying the boundary
  • The 1934 Treaty of Friendship and Co-operation between the British Empire and the Mutawakkalite Kingdom of Yemen, confirming the status quo as the border between Yemen and Aden (in English and Arabic)
  • The 1951 Exchange of Notes between HMG and the Mutawakkalite Kingdom of Yemen, which called for the establishment of a joint commission to delimit the border (in English and Arabic)
  • The 1914 Convention between HMG and the Ottoman Empire, which established the boundaries between Aden and Ottoman territory in southern Arabia (in English and French), with four maps displaying the boundaries